Third time well, honestly fourth time is a Charm!

Papa's Brew Stein

I love creating gifts for my family. My husband is often the recipient of my efforts. So around Christmas, I had this idea… I’d create a modern stein. My husband makes his own beer, he loves coffee, the cup could do double duty. Perfect. Um…except, I had no idea how hard it would be to hand build a modern beer stein.

The first attempt, was way too big, short, and the appliqués were sloppy and the composition way off. But, it got done right before Christmas- so I gave it to him anyway. He loves me understand, so he’d overlook the wonky design. But I felt horrible. I promised I would make him a new one.

wonky beer stein

So in January, I made another one. Well this one was again too big. I couldn’t reach the bottom to seal it well enough, and the handle was way too thin and weird. Ok, not that one. Late January, this one shape is better, lost wonky decorations, simplified and kept the wood texture. The handle was getting there, but again bottom too thin, not well sealed and it leaked. Ok, not that one.

Finally! Just before Valentine’s Day, I figured it out! Right size, holds liquids, cool texture, personalized, nice handle, and just enough wonkiness so it’s obviously handmade, but not so wonky that it looks like I have no clue as to what I’m doing.

Perfect ‘ish! Merry Christmas and Happy Valentines Sweetie!

(yes it took me 3 months to create your gift)

Three Tries Beer Stein

Morals of the story:

If at first you don’t succeed try try again!

Some things are worth waiting for .

But most importantly:     Beauty is in the eye of the beholder!

Check out the new design- custom made for the man in your life for sale in the shop. I promise- it won’t take three months!

http://www.happiestdaysdesigns.com/products/modern-beer-stein-personalized

 

Xo Shawn – Hull’s Happiest Days Designs

About Hull's Happiest Days Designs

Hello, I'm Shawn Hull half of Hull's Happiest Days Designs. Our blog focuses on family, everyday happy moments, celebrations, and recipes. Our business creates lovely handmade gifts celebrating home, family, and life's milestone moments. Please follow our blog and take a look at our website www.happiestdaysdesigns.com or clicking on my picture above:)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

