Recipe and Review: Nigella Lawson’s Nutella Cheesecake with a tweak

Nutella Cheesecake

As I mentioned in my last post, every Valentine’s Day I make some delectable treat from scratch. This year I had made Nigella Lawson’s No Bake -Nutella Cheesecake, but I tweaked it slightly with a chocolate sandwich cookie crust instead of the graham cracker crust that is called for. Let me preface this that this dessert was to celebrate Valentine’s Day for my Valentine – who doesn’t like cheesecake but LOVES Nutella- so I figured it was worth a try. Four of us were celebrating – one Husband Valentine and two daughter Valentines. All four of us love Nutella, and only one (my husband) hates cheesecake- so he was outnumbered and we went forward!

Review: This is a Chocolate Lovers Cheesecake and Nutella is the STAR! The cheesecake is VERY RICH and silky. The hazelnuts on the top add a wonderful crunch and a nice flavor. To me, the texture is less cheesecake and more like a wonderful chocolate silk pie. The cream cheese adds a nice tangy flavor and a wonderful texture. The cheesecake tastes best cold- and I loved the chocolate sandwich cookie crust. I’m not a huge fan of graham crackers- but I’m sure if you like them they would be a nice complement to the cheesecake. Verdict from the not-cheesecake lover- He liked the flavors and overall liked the cheesecake. He also felt it was very rich and you should have a small slice. He did feel it had more of cheesecake texture than I did. He too like the chocolate sandwich cookie crust. My girls gobbled it up 🙂

Difficulty: Super Easy! Smash and Mix in about 15 minutes. Chill or Express freeze. NO Baking.

Recipe: Nutella Cheesecake taken from Nigella.com

Link: http://www.nigella.com/recipes/view/nutella-cheesecake

Ingredients:

  • 10 oz graham crackers
  • 5 tablespoons soft unsalted butter
  • 1 x 13 oz jar Nutella (at room temperature)
  • ¾ cup chopped toasted hazelnuts
  • 1 lb cream cheese (at room temperature)
  • ½ cup confectioners’ sugar (sifted)
About Hull's Happiest Days Designs

Hello, I'm Shawn Hull half of Hull's Happiest Days Designs. Our blog focuses on family, everyday happy moments, celebrations, and recipes. Our business creates lovely handmade gifts celebrating home, family, and life's milestone moments. Please follow our blog and take a look at our website www.happiestdaysdesigns.com or clicking on my picture above:)
This entry was posted in Crafting, Handmade, Home, Kids, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

