Brownies and The Book of Love

Valentine's Day Browinie and Poem Book

My husband and I got engaged in 1996- quite some time ago. That year we started a Valentine tradition- a yummy homemade indulgence and a love poem. I bought a beautiful handmade notebook to collect our love poems through the years. At 19 years and counting – I am thinking we may need to create Love Volume II within the next year.

As I was getting ready to pen this year’s ode to love, I took some time to page through poems from the past. This little pink book holds glimpses into the many different stages of our life together. There are years where the poems are long and flowery, years where the poems are more direct and letter form, and I missed two years ( when I had two little girls under the age of 4) that I didn’t write a poem at all. I believe I signed cards those two years – that was the best I could do.

The technical quality of the poems is completely beside the point- I certainly noticed in my poems some years were better crafted than others. But what a gift- a living document spanning 19 years of our love and all the changes we’ve gone through. I’m feeling extra sentimental this year- he ended up with an epic. I called my husband at work to gloat that I had finished my poem ( this is always right up to the deadline exercise!) and it was in the book, he laughed and said- “Oh honey, good for you. I’m thinking you are getting a haiku this year!”  That’s just fine with me. I’ll be making a nutella cheesecake for the exchange – perfect accompaniment to a haiku 🙂 These years we have extended our Valentine party-2 little girls join us every year. But that makes it even more joyous. What’s more romantic than a family Valentine?

What Valentine traditions do you and your sweetie have?

Shawn Hull – Hull’s Happiest Days Designs

About Hull's Happiest Days Designs

Hello, I'm Shawn Hull half of Hull's Happiest Days Designs. Our blog focuses on family, everyday happy moments, celebrations, and recipes. Our business creates lovely handmade gifts celebrating home, family, and life's milestone moments. Please follow our blog and take a look at our website www.happiestdaysdesigns.com or clicking on my picture above:)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

